JUVE Awards 2007
Public Commercial Law

Law Firm of the Year for Public Commercial Law Practice

Conferring the award on the law firm of Redeker Sellner Dahs, Juve stated (translated by the law firm):

“The future of public‐law banks, the lottery monopoly, and the regulation of electricity and natural gas sectors—these are only a few of the hot topics in the field of public law, and Redeker lawyers are at the forefront of all of them. For decades, the firm's hallmark has been its top‐notch advice in public commercial law. Not every law firm, however, would have been able to capitalise on its traditional strengths and manage repeatedly to anticipate the direction in which these areas of the law would move.

Last year, even Redeker's competitors had to acknowledge the firm's impressive ability to translate its experience and breadth of expertise in the field of regulated industries to new sectors. Redeker successfully built on its telecommunications law expertise to enter the energy sector as another practice area, and it did so in a much more focused way than its competitors. Two years ago, the firm hired a young Freshfields lawyer to develop its competition law practice, a move that proved prescient as it laid the foundations for the firm's rapid move into the market. The firm's regulatory clients already include E.ON, among others.

Cross‐disciplinary working groups deployed in such areas as the firm's representation of FLUXX in gaming law and its advisory work for public banks are bundled ever more closely with other specialist departments, such as Dr Jürgen Lüders, vBP's corporate team. One recent example of this was the firm's work on the sale of SachsenLB; another example is the health care sector, including privatisation projects.

The firm's highly acclaimed senior partners, Prof Dr Konrad Redeker † and Dr Dieter Sellner, can be justifiably proud of what they have achieved—they have assembled a new generation of first‐class administrative lawyers with well‐deserved reputations: Prof Dr Olaf Reidt is renowned for his zoning expertise on large development projects, Dr Kay Artur Pape for his excellence in the field of environmental law […] It will now be up to them to cultivate the next generation of outstanding lawyers.”

JUVE Awards 2007
Kanzlei des Jahres

Kanzlei des Jahres für öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht

Die Verleihung des Juve‐Awards an Redeker Sellner Dahs erfolgte mit folgender Begründung:

„Die Zukunft der öffentlichen Banken, Streit um das Lotto‐Monopol oder Regulierung der Strom‐ und Gaswirtschaft – das sind nur einige der brennenden Themen des öffentlichen Rechts, und Redeker‐Anwälte sind bei allen in vorderster Front dabei. Seit Jahrzehnten ist hochkarätige Beratung im öffentlichen Wirtschaftsrecht ihr Markenzeichen. Doch noch lange nicht jede Kanzlei hätte es geschafft, aus der großen Tradition heraus zugleich die angesagten Beratungsfelder immer wieder gleichsam vorauszudenken.

Aber im vergangenen Jahr räumten selbst Wettbewerber anerkennend ein, wie Redeker geradezu brilliert, wenn es darum geht, ihre Erfahrung und fachliche Tiefe in Bezug auf regulierte Wirtschaftsbranchen auf neue Bereiche zu übertragen: Das Know‐how aus dem Telekommunikationsrecht hat Redeker sehr erfolgreich und deutlich zielgerichteter als Wettbewerber zur Erschließung des Energiemarkts als weiterem Tätigkeitsfeld genutzt. Sehr vorausschauend wirkt in diesem Zusammenhang die Besetzung der Schnittstelle zum Kartellrecht mit einem jungen Freshfields‐Anwalt vor zwei Jahren – ein Grundstein, um nun umso schneller in den Markt einsteigen zu können. Heute ist man bereits unter anderem für E.on in regulierungsbezogenen Fragen tätig.

Dabei stehen intern fachübergreifende Arbeitsgruppen etwa zum Glücksspielrecht – wo man für die Angreiferin Fluxx tätig ist – oder zur Beratung des öffentlichen Bankensektors für eine immer stärkere Bündelung der Kompetenzen mit anderen Fachgruppen wie etwa dem Corporate‐Team um Dr. Jürgen Lüders, vBP. Das zeigte sich jüngst bei der Begleitung des Verkaufs der SachsenLB, gilt aber auch für den Gesundheitssektor etwa bei Privatisierungen.

Die hoch anerkannten Seniorpartner Prof. Dr. Konrad Redeker † und Dr. Dieter Sellner dürfen stolz auf das Erreichte sein, denn neben ihnen hat sich eine weitere Generation erstklassiger Verwaltungsrechtler im Markt fest etabliert: So steht Prof. Dr. Olaf Reidt für die bauplanerische Expertise bei großen Projektentwicklungen, Dr. Kay Artur Pape für das Know‐how im Umweltrecht […] An ihnen wird es liegen, nun ihrerseits die nächste Generation heranzubilden.”