Prof Dr Jörg Philipp Terhechte

Of Counsel

Career

1995‑2000 Studies of Law, Philosophy and Economics at the University of Bielefeld. 2000‑2004 research assistant at the Chair of Public Law, European Law and International Law at the University of Bielefeld (Prof. Dr. Armin Hatje), 2003 doctorate, 2003‑2005 legal traineeship in Bonn, Brussels and Washington, D.C. 2006‑2011 research assistant at the Department of European Law at the Department of Public Law and Political Science at the University of Hamburg. 2011 Appointed University Professor for Public Law and European Law at the University of Siegen, 2012 Appointed University Professor for Public Law, European and International Law at Leuphana University Lüneburg, 2015 Honorary Professor at the University of Glasgow, 2018 Appointed Professor for European and International Economic Law at the University of Glasgow. 2021‑2022 Visiting Professor at the University of St. Andrews

2021 Joins the firm.

Practice

Public Law, European and International Law

Member of the Board of the Scientific Society for European Law and the University Society of Lüneburg. Member, inter alia, of the German Association for International Law, the German Association for the United Nations, the Academic Society for Competition Law, the Societas Iuris Publici Europaei (SIPE), the Working Group on Competition Law at the German Federal Cartel Office and the Gesellschaft für Rechtsvergleichung

Since 2012 Director of the Leuphana Competition & Regulation Institute. Since 2020 Director of the Leuphana Center for European and International Economic Law. Since 2013 Director of the Leuphana Professional School. Member of the Glasgow Center for International Law & Security since 2018. Since 2016 Vice President of the Leuphana University of Lüneburg. Since 2018 Executive Director of the Institute for European Integration, Europa Kolleg Hamburg/​Universität Hamburg and Board Member of the Stiftung Europa Kolleg. Since 2018 Academic Director and Chairman of the Academic Board of the European Centre for Advanced Studies (ECAS). Member of the Judicial Examination Office at the Hanseatic Higher Regional Court in Hamburg and the Judicial Examination Office in Celle

Research stays and visiting professorships in Barbados, Cape Town, Oxford, Beijing, Prague, St. Andrews, St. Petersburg and Washington, D.C., among others.

Advising in public law, European law and international law. Representations before the Federal Constitutional Court, the European Commission and numerous Courts of instance. Expert witness in constitutional law, European law, public economic law public commercial law (in particular cartel and regulatory law) and higher education law Higher Education Law.

Publications

More than 300 commentaries and journal articles in public law, European law and international law. Co‑​editor of the European Yearbook for International Economic Law, member of the editorial board of EUROPARECHT, editor of the major commentary on Union law (von der Groeben/​Hatje/​Schwarze/​Terhechte, 8th ed. 2022) and a handbook on EU administrative law (2nd ed. 2021). Co‑​editor of several series.

Languages

German

Prof Dr Jörg Philipp Terhechte

Prof Dr Jörg Philipp Terhechte

Berlin
T +49 30 885665‐273
F +49 30 885665‐99

terhechte@redeker.de

Prof. Dr. Jörg Philipp Terhechte

Of Counsel

Werdegang

1995‑2000 Studium der Rechtswissenschaft, Philosophie und Volkswirtschafslehre an der Universität Bielefeld. 2000‑2004 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Öffentliches Recht, Europa‑ und Völkerecht an der Universität Bielefeld (Prof. Dr. Armin Hatje), 2003 Promotion, 2003‑2005 Referendariat u. a. in Bonn, Brüssel und Washington, D.C. 2006‑2011 wissenschaftlicher Assistent an der Seminarabteilung Europarecht am Seminar für Öffentliches Recht und Staatslehre der Universität Hamburg. 2011 Berufung zum Universitätsprofessor für Öffentliches Recht und Europarecht an die Universität Siegen, 2012 Berufung zum Universitätsprofessor für Öffentliches Recht, Europa‑ und Völkerrecht an die Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, 2015 Honorary Professor der University of Glasgow, 2018 Berufung zum Professor for European and International Economic Law an die University of Glasgow. 2021‑2022 Visiting Professor an der University of St. Andrews.

2021 Eintritt in die Kanzlei.

Tätigkeiten

Öffentliches Recht, Europa‑ und Völkerrecht

Mitglied im Vorstand der Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft für Europarecht und der Universitätsgesellschaft Lüneburg. Mitglied u. a. der Deutschen Vereinigung für Internationales Recht, der Deutchen Vereinigung für die Vereinten Nationen, der Academic Society for Competition Law, der Societas Iuris Publici Europaei (SIPE), des Arbeitskreises Kartellrecht beim Bundeskartellamt und der Gesellschaft für Rechtsvergleichung.

Seit 2012 Direktor des Leuphana Competition & Regulation Institute. Seit 2020 Direktor des Leuphana Center for European and International Economic Law. Seit 2013 Leiter der Leuphana Professional School. Seit 2018 Mitglied des Glasgow Center for International Law & Security. Seit 2016 Vizepräsident der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg. Seit 2018 Geschäftsführender Direktor des Institute for European Integration, Europa Kolleg Hamburg/​Universität Hamburg und Vorstand der Stiftung Europa Kolleg. Seit 2018 Academic Director und Chairman des Academic Board des European Centre for Advanced Studies (ECAS). Mitglied des Justizprüfungsamtes am Hanseatischen Oberlandesgericht in Hamburg und Justizprüfungsamtes Celle.

Forschungsaufenthalte und Gastprofessuren u. a. in Barbados, Kapstadt, Oxford, Peking, Prag, St. Andrews, St. Petersburg und Washington, D.C.

Beratung im Öffentlichen Recht, Europa‑ und Völkerrecht. Vertretungen vor dem Bundesverfassungsgericht, der Europäischen Kommission und zahlreichen Instanzgerichten. Gutachter u. a. im Verfassungsrecht, im Europarecht, im öffentlichen Wirtschaftsrecht (insbesondere Kartell‑ und Regulierungsrecht) und Hochschulrecht.

Publikationen

Mehr als 300 Kommentierungen und Zeitschriftenbeiträge im Öffentlichen Recht, Europa‑ und Völkerrecht. U.a. Mitherausgeber des European Yearbook for International Economic Law, Mitarbeiter der Schriftleitung der EUROPARECHT, Herausgeber des Großkommentars zum Unionsrecht (von der Groeben/​Hatje/​Schwarze/​Terhechte, 8. Aufl. 2022) und eines Handbuchs zum EU‑​Verwaltungsrechts (2. Auf. 2021). Mitherausgeber mehrerer Schriftenreihen.

Sprachen

Deutsch

Prof. Dr. Jörg Philipp Terhechte

Prof. Dr. Jörg Philipp Terhechte

Berlin
T +49 30 885665‐273
F +49 30 885665‐99

terhechte@redeker.de