JUVE Awards 2014

Law Firm of the Year in Economic Criminal Law

The Juve‐Verlag legal publishing company, publisher of the annual handbook titled “Wirtschaftskanzleien” [Commercial firms], selected the Law Firms of the Year 2014 in various areas of the law on 23 October 2014.

Redeker Sellner Dahs was awarded as Law Firm of the Year in economic criminal law. The publishing company stated the following reasons (translated by the law firm):

“They are back. For a long time Redeker Sellner Dahs, who once had an outstanding reputation in criminal law, have struggled for succession. The two partners Prof Dr Heiko Lesch and Prof Dr Bernd Müssig, have been considered professionally outstanding for a long time, but the market feedback remained ambivalent.

Juridically outstanding, but too scientific, lacking bite, that was the tenor. The breakthrough occurred now, of all times, with the proceedings against Uriel Sharef, the only former Siemens member of the Board accused. Even competitors paid respect to the firm for the thoroughness with which the lawyers pulled the proceedings through. Critics quickly fell silent. Also, client representation in the Sal.‐Oppenheimer complex contributed to this as well as – with some limitations – the proceedings against former Federal President Christian Wulff, the latter a mandate that, at the same time, resulted from cooperation with the firm’s own media law practice. This shows that the firm relies on the right strategy, which is to focus on individual defence. The increase in main trials plays into the hands of the Redeker team.

But they put on a coronet with a mandate of different character, namely when mandated by Debeka, who are currently under investigation for their data gathering by the Koblenz prosecution office. This could be the entry into compliance counselling.”

Nominated in Media Law

Once again the firm was nominated in media law, with the following explanation (translated by the law firm):

“This team is in permanent action. In their focus area of media regulation the ambitious experts around Gernot Lehr were missing in hardly any relevant proceedings. Be it for the ZDF in the abstract review of statute of the ZDF state contract, be it for Arte regarding cable feeding fees, or for ARD/NDR in the proceedings regarding the Tagesschau app now pending before the Federal Court: The small unit has surpassed itself.

Add the prominent Debeka mandate, in which the firm not only contributed its press law experience, but has settled down also in data protection. Beyond that, it represents the consistent internal use of synergies – in this case with its criminal law lawyers. Having once strongly relied on Lehr, the firm, by appointing the already recognized Dr Christian Mensching as salary partner a few years ago has now obtained another nomination that tops the successful year off.”

  • JUVE Awards 2014 - Law Firm of the Year in Commercial Criminal Law

JUVE Awards 2014

Kanzlei des Jahres im Wirt­schafts­strafrecht

Der Juve‐Verlag für juristische Informa­tionen, der unter anderem das jährliche Handbuch „Wirt­schaftskanzleien“ herausgibt, hat am 23.10.2014 die Kanzleien des Jahres 2014 für verschiedene Bereiche gekürt.

Redeker Sellner Dahs ist als Kanzlei des Jahres für Wirt­schafts­strafrecht aus­gezeichnet worden. Als Begrün­dung formulierte der Verlag:

„Sie ist zurück. Lan­ge hat Redeker Sellner Dahs, die einst im Strafrecht einen Ruf wie Donnerhall genoss, um die Nachfolge ge­run­gen. Als fachlich exzellent galten die beiden Part­ner Prof. Dr. Heiko Lesch und Prof. Dr. Bernd Müssig schon lan­ge, doch blieb das Feedback aus dem Markt stets ambivalent.

Juristisch aus­gezeichnet, aber zu wissen­schaft­lich geprägt, zu wenig Biss, so der Tenor. Der Durchbruch gelang nun aus­gerechnet mit dem Verfahren gegen Uriel Sharef, den einzigen ehemaligen Siemens‐Vorstand, der an­geklagt wurde. Selbst Wettbewerber zollten der Praxis Respekt wegen der Konsequenz, mit der die Strafrecht­ler das Verfahren durchzogen. Die Kritik verstummte schnell. Dazu beigetragen haben auch die Vertre­tung im Sal.‐Oppenheim‐Komplex und – mit Abstrichen – das Verfahren gegen Ex‐Bundespräsidenten Christian Wulff, Letzteres ein Mandat, das zugleich Ergebnis der Zusam­menarbeit mit der Medien­praxis innerhalb der Kanzlei war. Damit zeigt sich, dass die Kanzlei auf die für sie richtige Strategie ge­setzt hat, nämlich die Individualver­tei­di­gung in den Fokus zu stellen. Die Zunahme von Haupt­verhandlun­gen spielt dem Redeker‐Team nun in die Hände.

Das Krönchen setzte sie sich dann jedoch mit einem anders gelagerten Mandat auf, nämlich mit der Mandatie­rung durch Debeka, deren Datenbeschaffung derzeit von der Koblen­zer Staatsan­walt­schaft unter die Lupe genom­men wird. Dies könnte der Eintritt in die Compliance‐Bera­tung sein.“

Nominiert im Medien­recht

Nominiert wurde die Kanzlei zum wiederholten Male für den Bereich Medien­recht. Zur Begrün­dung heißt es:

„Dieses Team ist im Dauereinsatz. In ihrem Schwerpunktbereich Medienregulie­rung fehlten die ehrgeizigen Experten um Gernot Lehr in kaum einem relevanten Verfahren. Sei es für das ZDF im Normenkontrollver­fahren über den ZDF‐Staats­vertrag, für Arte wegen der Kabeleinspeiseent­gelte oder für ARD/NDR im nun vor dem BGH anhängigen Verfahren um die Tages­schau‐App: Die kleine Einheit hat sich selbst übertroffen.

Hinzu kommt das prominente Debeka‐Mandat, in dem die Praxis nicht nur ihre presserecht­liche Erfah­rung einbringt, sondern auch beim Datenschutz Fuß gefasst hat. Es steht zudem für intern konsequent genutzte Synergien – in diesem Fall mit den Wirt­schafts­strafrecht­lern. Nachdem die einst stark auf Lehr konzentrierte Praxis vor einigen Jahren den bereits anerkannten Dr. Christian Mensching zum Salary‐Part­ner ernannt hat, rundet eine weitere Ernennung das erfolgreiche Jahr ab.“

  • JUVE Awards 2014 – Kanzlei des Jahres Wirtschaftsstrafrecht