Dr Christian Eckart, LL.M. (Cornell)

Partner

Career

Born in Herdecke in 1978. Studied law in Trier, Nice, and at the Humboldt University Berlin, supported by the German National Academic Foundation. First state examination in 2005 followed by master studies (LL.M.) at Cornell Law School, USA, 2005–2006. From 2006 until 2009 fellow at the Humboldt University DFG Research Training Group “Constitution Beyond the State”. 2010 doctorate supervised by Prof Dr Dr hc Tomuschat. 2012 second state examination in law, clerkship at the Permanent Mission of Germany to the United Nations in New York.

Joined the firm in 2012.

Practice

Public commercial law, aviation law, passenger transportation and housing law, health law, Public International and European law.

Advising and representing companies and authorities in the transport sector, in particular on innovative mobility concepts (ridesharing, carsharing, on‑​demand transport, UAVs, air taxis, etc.), in licensing and litigation proceedings under aviation law (including BER Airport and FRA Airport). Advising and representing providers of the sharing economy (Airbnb, CleverShuttle, etc.). Advising and representing the public sector in a large number of legal actions and compensation proceedings under infection control law as well as top institutions of the health care system.

Publications

Publications inter alia on aviation law, infection control law, environmental law and international law, including the monograph “Promises of States under International Law”, Hart Publishing 2012; author in: Grabherr/​Reidt/​Wysk, Air Traffic Law, since loose‑​leaf 22nd edition 2021; in: Schink/​Reidt/​Mitschang, UVPG, UmwRG, C.H. Beck 2018 and in: Eckart/​Winkelmüller, BeckOK Infektionsschutzrecht, C.H. Beck Verlag, 2020 (online in constant update).

publications

Languages

German, English

Dr Christian Eckart, LL.M. (Cornell)

Dr Christian Eckart, LL.M. (Cornell)

Berlin
T +49 30 885665‐140
F +49 30 885665‐99

eckart@redeker.de

Assistance:
Andrea Brügge
Laureen Pempel
Adriana Marino

Dr. Christian Eckart, LL.M. (Cornell)

Partner

Werdegang

Geboren 1978 in Herdecke. Studium der Rechtswissenschaften gefördert durch die Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes in Trier, Nizza und an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. Erstes Staatsexamen 2005. Von 2005 bis 2006 Masterstudium (LL.M.) an der Cornell Law School in den USA. Von 2006 bis 2009 Stipendiat des DFG‐Graduiertenkollegs „Verfassung jenseits des Staates“ an der Humboldt‐Universität zu Berlin. 2010 Promotion bei Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Tomuschat. 2012 zweites juristisches Staatsexamen. Referendarstationen u. a. bei der Ständigen Vertretung Deutschlands bei den Vereinten Nationen in New York.

2012 Eintritt in die Anwaltskanzlei.

Tätigkeiten

Öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht, Luftverkehrs‑, Planfeststellungs‑ und Personenbeförderungsrecht, Zweckentfremdungsrecht, Gesundheitsrecht, Europa‑ und Völkerrecht.

Laufende Beratung und Vertretung von Unternehmen aus dem Verkehrssektor (u. a. zu innovativen Mobilitätskonzepten wie On‑​Demand‑​Sammelverkehren, UAVs und Flugtaxen, zur Abgas‑ und Verbrauchsregulierung und zum EU‑​Typzulassungsrecht), von führenden Anbietern der Sharing Economy (insb. in den Segmenten Wohnraum und Personenbeförderung), von Unions‑, Bundes‑ und Landesbehörden sowie Flughafenunternehmen in luftverkehrsrechtlichen Genehmigungs‑ und Klageverfahren (Flughafenplanfeststellung (darunter Flughafen BER, Flughafen FRA), EASA‑​Genehmigungen, Flugroutenfestlegung u. a.) und von Spitzeneinrichtungen des Gesundheitssystems.

Publikationen

Veröffentlichungen zum Luftverkehrsrecht, Europarecht, Umweltrecht und Völkerrecht, darunter die Monographie „Promises of States under International Law“, Hart Publishing 2012; Mitautor in: Schink/​Reidt/​Mitschang, UVPG, UmwRG, C.H. Beck 2018.

Publikationen

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch

Dr. Christian Eckart, LL.M. (Cornell)

Dr. Christian Eckart, LL.M. (Cornell)

Berlin
T +49 30 885665‐140
F +49 30 885665‐99

eckart@redeker.de

Sekretariat:
Andrea Brügge
Laureen Pempel