Dr Christian Mensching, LL.M. (Columbia)

Partner
Career

Born in Brussels in 1977. Studied law at the University of Bonn. 2002 first State examination, 2006 second State examination. 2002‐2003 research associate at the Chair of Prof Dr Herdegen. 2003‐2004 Columbia University School of Law, New York, USA, received an LL.M. in 2004.

Joined the firm in 2007.

Practice

Press and broadcasting law, new media, constitutional law, European and international law.

Recommended by Legal 500 in media law/​press and publishers.

Member of the German‐American Lawyers' Association. Member of the intellectual property and media working group of the German Bar Association.

Regular advice, including acting as counsel – both in and out of court – for small and medium‑​scale enterprises as well as listed companies, prominent public and political figures, universities and research organisations along with federal and state authorities in press and public relations matters and proceedings, both prior to an expected report – e. g. in the case of media queries and research – including after reports have already been published.

Acting as counsel on a regular basis for two public broadcasters in court proceedings involving press and public relations.

Advising and acting as counsel for various federal and state authorities as well as enterprises in connection with rights and access to information, such as provided for under federal and state freedom‑​of‑​information laws and law governing the press and archives. 

Publications

Publications in the fields of public, European and international law.

publications

Languages

German, English

Dr Christian Mensching, LL.M. (Columbia)

Dr Christian Mensching, LL.M. (Columbia)

Bonn
T +49 228 72625‐174
F +49 228 72625‐99

mensching@redeker.de

Assistance:
Manja Körfer

Dr. Christian Mensching, LL.M. (Columbia)

Partner
Werdegang

Geboren 1977 in Brüssel. Studium der Rechtswissenschaften in Bonn. 2002 erstes, 2006 zweites juristisches Staatsexamen.

Referendarstationen u. a. bei der Deutschen Hochschule für Verwaltungswissenschaften in Speyer und im Bundeswirtschaftsministerium. 2002 bis 2003 wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Lehrstuhl Prof. Dr. Herdegen. 2003 bis 2004 Studium an der Columbia University School of Law, New York, USA, LL.M.

2007 Eintritt in die Anwaltskanzlei.

Tätigkeiten

Presse‐ und Äußerungsrecht, Rundfunkrecht, Recht der neuen Medien, Verfassungsrecht, Europa‐ und Völkerrecht.

Von Legal 500 im Medienrecht/​Presse und Verlage empfohlen.

Mitglied der Deutsch‐Amerikanischen Juristenvereinigung. Mitglied der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Geistiges Eigentum und Medien im Deutschen Anwaltverein e. V.

Regelmäßige Beratung und Vertretung – außergerichtlich und gerichtlich – von mittelständischen und börsennotierten Unternehmen, Personen des öffentlichen und politischen Lebens, Universitäten und Forschungsorganisationen sowie Bundes‑ und Länderbehörden in presse‑ und äußerungsrechtlichen Angelegenheiten und Verfahren, sowohl im Vorfeld einer erwarteten Berichterstattung – etwa bei Medienanfragen und ‑recherchen – als auch im Fall einer erfolgten Berichterstattung.

Regelmäßige Vertretung von zwei öffentlichen‑​rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten in presse‑ und äußerungsrechtlichen Gerichtsverfahren.

Beratung und Vertretung verschiedener Bundes‑ und Länderbehörden und Unternehmen in Zusammenhang mit Auskunfts‑ und Informationszugangsansprüchen, etwa nach dem Informationsfreiheitsgesetzen des Bundes und der Länder sowie dem Presse‑ und Archivrecht. 

Publikationen

Veröffentlichungen zum öffentlichen Recht sowie zum Europa‐ und Völkerrecht.

Publikationen

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch

Dr. Christian Mensching, LL.M. (Columbia)

Dr. Christian Mensching, LL.M. (Columbia)

Bonn
T +49 228 72625‐174
F +49 228 72625‐99

mensching@redeker.de

Sekretariat:
Manja Körfer