Dr Simone Lünenbürger

Senior Counsel

Career

Born 1969 in Landau, Germany. Studied law at the University of Mannheim. 1994 first State examination, 1999 second State examination. Legal traineeship in Kiel, Speyer and Bonn, incl. the Ministery of Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety.

From 1994 to 1997, research associate at the Lorenz‐von‐Stein‐Institute for Administrative Law Studies at the Christian Albrecht University of Kiel, Germany. 1994 and 1955 freelance work as a lecturer.1998 doctoral degree with Prof Dr von Mutius, Kiel.

Joined the firm in Bonn in 1999, resident in the Brussels office since 2010.

Practice

State aid law, EU law, Antitrust and cartel damages law

Recommended by Legal 500 in State aid.

Member of the registered association “Berlin Discussion Group on European Sate Aid Law”, Member of the German Law Association “Administrative Law Working Group” for the Land of North Rhine‐Westphalia.

Advisory and expert activities as well as representation of ministries, public and private companies and associations in state aid law in national courts, European Courts and the EU Commission (e. g. regarding Nord/​LB and Condor), special expertise in the banking, energy, airport, forestry and shipping sectors as well as regarding environmental aid, damage aid regarding COVID and natural disasters (e. g. the flood disaster in the Ahr valley) and services of general economic interest (SGEI), comprehensive advisory work on questions of ecological sustainability within the meaning of the Taxonomy Regulation, cartel damages proceedings, e. g. regarding the “Lottokartell” and the “Rundholzkartell”.

Publications

Publications on state aid law, the Taxonomy Regulation (both in English and German) as well as on regulatory, environmental tax and financial constitutional law, a. o. author at the „Münchener Kommentar“ regarding European and German Competition Law as well as at the „Beck‑​Kommentar“ on the Taxonomy Regulation (to be published in 2023), legal opinion “Nuclear Power and the Taxonomy Regulation”, legal expert part of the report “State aid for a Green Recovery” and “Implementing the Green Deal: Integrating Environmental Protection Requirements into the Design and Assessment of State Aid”, EStAL 2020, 418 et seq., research reports for UBA/​BMU “EU state aid policy – Analysis of the effects of the new state aid law with special regard to the instrument of ex‑​post evaluation” (together with E.CA Economics, Berlin) as well as “Legal analysis of the concept of environmentally related additional costs in the environmental aid guidelines, lectures and webinars on “Taxonomy Regulation and Nuclear Power”, o. a. in front of members of the European Parliament, the EWeRK e. V. at the Humboldt University in Berlin and at the Austrian Representation in Brussels (https://​idw‑​online.de/​de/​event70074), lectures e. g. at the „Stiftung Umweltenergierecht” and as a speaker at the 11th Speyer European Law Days.

publications

Languages

German, English, French

Dr Simone Lünenbürger

Dr Simone Lünenbürger

Brussels
T +32 2 74003‐23
F +32 2 74003‐29

luenenbuerger@redeker.de

Assistance:
Laura Holdsworth

Dr. Simone Lünenbürger

Senior Counsel

Werdegang

Geboren 1969 in Landau/​Pfalz. Studium der Rechtswissenschaften in Mannheim. 1994 erstes, 1999 zweites juristisches Staatsexamen. Referendarstationen in Kiel, Speyer und Bonn, u. a. im Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit.

1994 bis 1997 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Lorenz‑​von‑​Stein‑​Institut für Verwaltungswissenschaften an der Christian‑​Albrecht‑​Universität, Kiel. 1994 und 1995 freiberufliche Tätigkeit als Lehrbeauftragte. 1998 Promotion bei Prof. Dr. von Mutius, Kiel.

1999 Eintritt in die Anwaltskanzlei in Bonn, seit 2010 Anwältin im Brüsseler Büro.

Tätigkeiten

Beihilfenrecht, Europarecht, Kartell‑ und Kartellschadensersatzrecht

Empfohlen von Legal 500 im Beihilfenrecht.

Mitglied des Berliner Gesprächskreises zum Europäischen Beihilfenrecht e. V., Mitglied der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Verwaltungsrecht, Landesgruppe Nordrhein‑​Westfalen, im Deutschen Anwaltverein.

Beratungs‑ und Gutachtertätigkeit sowie Vertretung von Ministerien, öffentlichen und privaten Unternehmen und Verbänden im Beihilfenrecht vor nationalen Gerichten, Unionsgerichten und der EU‑​Kommission (u. a. bzgl. Nord/​LB sowie Condor), besondere Expertise im Banken‑, Energie‑, Flughafen‑, Forst‑ und Schiffsektor sowie sektorübergreifend bzgl. Umweltbeihilfen, Schadensbeihilfen bzgl. COVID und Naturkatastrophen (u. a. der Hochwasserkatastrophe im Ahrtal) und Dienstleistungen von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse (DAWI)), umfassende Beratungs‑ und Gutachtertätigkeit zu Fragen der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit i. S. d. Taxonomieverordnung, Kartellschadensersatzfahren u. a. zum „Lottokartell“ sowie „Rundholzkartell“.

Publikationen

Publikationen im Beihilfenrecht, zur Taxonomieverordnung (jeweils englisch und deutsch) sowie zum Regulierungs‑, Umweltabgaben‑ und Finanzverfassungsrecht, u. a. Autorin im Münchener Kommentar zum Europäischen und Deutschen Wettbewerbsrecht sowie im Beck‑​Kommentar zur Taxonomieverordnung (erscheint 2023), Rechtsgutachten „Nuclear Power and the Taxonomy Regulation“, rechtsgutachterlicher Teil des Berichts „State aid for a Green Recovery“ und „Implementation of the Green Deal: Integrating Environmental Protection Requirements into the Design and Assessment of State Aid“, EStAL 2020, 418 ff., Forschungsberichte für UBA/​BMU „EU‑​Beihilfepolitik – Analyse der Auswirkungen des neuen Beihilferechts unter besonderer Berücksichtigung des Instruments der Ex‑​post‑​Evaluierung“ (gemeinsam mit E.CA Economics, Berlin) sowie „Rechtliche Untersuchung des Begriffs der umweltbezogenen Mehrkosten in den Umweltbeihilfeleitlinien, Vorträge und Webinare zu „Taxonomieverordnung und Kernkraft“, u. a. vor Abgeordneten des Europäischen Parlaments, für das EWeRK e. V. an der Humboldt‑​Universität zu Berlin sowie in der österreichischen Vertretung in Brüssel (https://​idw‑​online.de/​de/​event70074), Vortragstätigkeit z. B. bei der Stiftung Umweltenergierecht und als Referentin der 11. Speyerer Europarechtstage

Publikationen

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Dr. Simone Lünenbürger

Dr. Simone Lünenbürger

Brüssel
T +32 2 74003‐23
F +32 2 74003‐29

luenenbuerger@redeker.de

Sekretariat:
Laura Holdsworth